Over So Soon…

11 months…I’ve been home every day with my boy for 11 months. I have spent the majority of my time every single day for 11 months with him. Sure, I went to the gym, and I got my nails done, I’ve gotten groceries and for one night Omi took him so I could sleep. But for most of those 11 months, it was me and him.

In 1 month I go back to work. I will be away from him for days at a time in some cases because of how my shifts fall. I will have to hope that he is happy and cared for in someone else’s home. It doesn’t make the transition easier that currently if I leave him with anyone other than Omi he has a fit. He got kicked out of the gym daycare last week because he cried too much. I know it will be a tough time for us both (maybe all three of us), but I hope so much that he gets used to it quickly.

This is my last month of maternity leave and I want it to be great. That doesn’t necessarily mean we have to do big amazing things every day but maybe just appreciating the little things more. More snuggles, more laughing, being more present when he’s awake.

That little boy has my whole heart and I can’t even imagine walking away from him while he cries with someone else for a whole day, but thats the reality. We will adjust, we will adapt, and hopefully we will be better for it.

Maybe its time to get knocked up again so I can take another year off. Ha

-K

Leave a comment